About Scholarships

The PETNA Foundation funds a number of scholarships to enable outstanding young students to pursue higher education and to set them on a path toward a successful career and future.

Through these scholarships, the Foundation hopes to fuel young people’s dreams, expand their horizons, and support their academic and personal development. Upon graduation, these young scholars will have gained a strong foundation from which to serve as leaders, innovators and agents of change in their communities.

Nicholas and Janice Brathwaite Award

In 2013, PETNA Founders, Nicholas and Janice Brathwaite established a full scholarship for Grenadian students to complete an undergraduate programme at McMaster University in Canada. The following individuals received a Nicholas and Janice Brathwaite Award and have gone on to rewarding careers:


Seventeen year old Kieran Neath is a sixth form honors student at Campion College in Kingston, Ja...


BA in Education; AA with Honors in Religion; MA in Educational Leadership Currently teaching Engl...


AS in Information Technology; BA Magna Cum Laude in Information Technology; Pursuing MS in Techno...


Sophomore at CUNY John Jay College of Criminial Justice Dean’s List; Accepted to competitive Peer...


Oliver Maynard is pursuing an undergraduate degree in Chemical and Process Engineering at the Uni...


BA in Teacher Education; MA in Curriculum, Instruction, and Personal Development Currently teachi...

Brathwaite Scholarships

Worldwide, about 124 million children and adolescents do not attend school.

Building on the success of the Nicholas and Janice Brathwaite Award, the Brathwaite Scholarships were instituted in 2016, to add to the number of students from Grenada who can complete a degree at McMaster University. One of the key objectives of the Brathwaite Scholarship is to help individuals who have strong scholastic ability, but who do not have the means, to pursue a high-quality post-secondary education. The following individuals received a Brathwaite Scholarship in 2016:

  • Ryan deRiggs
  • Corie Bain
  • Solange Dowden Thomas

SPISE Scholars

  • Timara Bubb (2017)
  • Kieran Neath (2016)